Artificial Intelligence by
Artificial intelligence (AI) has the potential to drastically change healthcare, including the optimisation of time and materials for clinical tasks (efficiency), and more accurate diagnose detection (effectiveness). However, these clinical-based AI applications are still in very early development stages. Investigating the wide range of applications of AI in both community and hospital care settings, and along the patient care pathway, the chapters here focus on applications capable of contributing to the workflow and management of the activities to be provided. The impact of AI in solving the main issues of modern medicine is discussed, such as reorganization of services towards patient-centricity, management of task shifting and skills mix, greater competitiveness between public and private sector, and financing mechanisms. Difficulties that may arise during the implementation of AI in an organization are addressed, including practical solutions, providing a practical guide for managers, clinical leaders and policy makers. Artificial Intelligence: Why and How it is Revolutionizing Healthcare Management identifies a roadmap for the appropriate introduction of artificial intelligence in healthcare organizations that responds to the need of decision-makers and managers to have a clear picture of how to move in the developing field of AI.
AACN essentials of critical care nursing by
The standard-bearer of critical care nursing guides―this succinct, comprehensive resource delivers the most current concepts for treating adult, critically ill patients and their families This engaging, evidence-based guide provides everything nurses and students need to know to provide safe, effective critical care. Endorsed by the American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN), and written by top experts in the field, this peer-reviewed guide covers all the essential details on the care of adult critical care patients and their families. Supported by helpful tables and algorithms, the book's practical, building-block organization starts with the basics before proceeding to more complex concepts. Whether you're going through orientation on the hospital floor or you're enrolled in critical care courses, AACN Essentials of Critical Care Nursing helps you care for every critical care patient. AACN Essentials of Critical Care Nursing, Fifth Edition is organized into four sections: The Essentials presents core information for providing safe, competent nursing care to all critically ill patients, regardless of their underlying medical diagnoses Pathologic Conditions covers conditions and management strategies commonly encountered among adult critical care patients Advanced Concepts in Caring for the Critically Ill Patient describes specific pathologic conditions that require specialized critical care management Key Reference Information features normal laboratory and diagnostic values, cardiac rhythms and their treatment and crisis standards of care
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses is a comprehensive resource providing detailed information on medications used in healthcare. It includes guidelines on improving practices and patient safety, managing medication errors, and detecting adverse drug reactions. The guide covers special dosing considerations for various populations, such as pediatric and older adult patients, and addresses conditions like renal and hepatic impairments. It also highlights drug interactions and the significance of the Cytochrome P450 system. Aimed at healthcare professionals, particularly nurses, the book is structured to educate on safe medication use and offers alphabetical drug monographs, recent drug approvals, and appendices with practical tools for medication administration.
Emerging Technologies for Nurses
Learn and innovate with the latest technologies in nursing and healthcare! The first text of its kind in nursing, this book provides up-to-date information on innovative, smart technologies that nurses can use in clinical and nonclinical settings to keep up with the changing face of healthcare. This compelling guide will provide you with information about exciting areas of technology that have great potential to improve patient care. Subjects include big data, artificial intelligence, virtual and augmented realities, connected technologies, and precision health. There is also discusson of the shift of healthcare delivery into the community, with an outlook on improving outcomes and enhancing practice. Each chapter focuses on developing competency in current and future real-world applications of emerging technologies. Early chapters describe how to utilize new tools, processes, models, and products to serve the quadruple aim of better managing populations, decreasing costs, and enhancing both the patient's and the clinician's experience. The culture of innovation coincides with the ever-changing politics of healthcare in later chapters, which then evolves into the entrepreneurial opportunities for nurses. This text is an essential introduction for all practicing nurses, nurse leaders, and nurses teaching health information technology or informatics courses.Key Features: Written by nurses for nursesThe latest information on emerging health information technology and associated nursing implicationsCompelling cases show the dramatic effect of innovations on value-based careLearn how applying novel technologies can improve patient careQualified instructors have access to supplementary materials, including PowerPoint slides and an Instructor's Manual
Oxford Handbook of Primary Care and Community Nursing
Fully updated for its third edition, the Oxford Handbook of Primary Care and Community Nursing is the essential guide to caring for patients in primary care and in community settings. Concise and comprehensive, the book provides the reader with both evidence-based clinical knowledge as well as the organizational structure of community health services. Chapters range from common adult and paediatric health problems, to more specific targeted advice for service users with extra needs and people with long-term conditions. The handbook includes information on how health and social care services are organised and funded, from common technical care procedures to complex situations, alongside detailed aspects of health promotion in adults, children, and adolescents. With new topics on consultation frameworks and models, supporting young people in their transition to the adult services, and female genital mutilation, all clinical guidelines, epidemiology, and statistics have been revised to reflect developments since the previous edition. Providing an accessible and instant resource for everyday nursing, and a benchmark of good practice, the Oxford Handbook of Primary Care and Community Nursing is a unique and invaluable companion for all health care professionals working in the primary care and community setting.
Palliative Care Nursing
Palliative Care Nursing: Caring for Suffering Patients continues to explore the concept of suffering as it relates to nursing practice in an updated new edition. This text helps practicing nurses and students define and recognize various aspects of suffering across the lifespan and within various patient populations, while providing guidance in alleviating suffering. In addition, the authors discuss ways nurses that witness suffering can optimize their own coping skills and facilitate personal growth. The Second Edition aligns with the recently updated ELNEC and AACN competencies and features three new chapters discussing advance care planning, palliative care for those with serious illnesses, and strategies for having difficult conversations with patients and families.How do we identify a patient who is suffering? How do we assess whether our patient (and/or their family) is coping with the event? What can we do to alleviate patient suffering? How can we convey the extent of the suffering to the other members of the healthcare team and advocate excellent palliative care for our patients? Palliative Care Nursing: Caring for Suffering Patients, Second Edition answers these questions and more, making it an indispensable resource for nursing students and nurses employed in a variety of health care settings.
Nursing Diagnosis Handbook : an Evidence-based Guide to Planning Care
Helps practicing nurses and nursing students select appropriate nursing diagnoses and write care plans with ease and confidence. This convenient handbook shows you how to correlate nursing diagnoses with known information about clients on the basis of assessment findings, established medical or psychiatric diagnoses, and the current treatment plan. Extensively revised and updated with the new 2018-2020 NANDA-I approved nursing diagnoses, it integrates the NIC and NOC taxonomies, evidence-based nursing interventions, and adult, pediatric, geriatric, multicultural, home care, safety, and client/family teaching and discharge planning considerations to guide your students in creating unique, individualized care plans.
Research and Evidence-Based Practice : For Nursing, Health and Social Care Students
Research and Evidence-Based Practice is an accessible textbook for nursing, health and social care students seeking to understand what research is and how it can provide evidence for practice.
Through clear explanations, key case studies, questions and activities, the book will help you to understand the principles of research and develop your own evidence-based practice.
Introducing Research and Evidence-Based Practice for Nursing and Healthcare Professionals
Research can seem difficult to get to grips with. However, at the heart of this new edition is the view that research is essentially a simple activity, the principles of which can be readily understood by students new to the subject. Each chapter guides the reader to uncover the 'mysteries' of research, exposing each aspect in turn, while demonstrating how research in healthcare is a practical activity, orientated directly to patient care. Fully updated to refer to the latest sources and studies, the third edition includes: a new chapter on systematic literature reviews; a new chapter on research ethics; a completely revised chapter on evidence-based practice which now focuses more tightly on the implementation of research and other forms of evidence. This book is designed for all students of nursing and allied health professions at any level but who find themselves studying research for the first time. Research is illustrated through examples of activities familiar to students from their daily lives, which help build confidence in undertaking research and evidence-based practice.
Introduction to Evidence-based Practice : a Practical Guide for Nursing
"We conceptualized this text around the belief that nurses want what is best for their patients. Through our work in the evidence-based practice movement, we have come to learn that this is not always a simple endeavor. The rapid explosion of information and its sources has contributed to the complexity of practicing in a way that yields desirable outcomes. In order to access, appraise, and utilize the available information, students and practicing nurses alike need to learn first about evidence-based practice. In this book, we present the elemental principles that demystify the process in a way that is easily accessible and excites passion for patient care"-- Provided by publisher.
Fast Facts for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing
Introduction to evidence-based practice -- Asking the compelling question -- Models to guide evidence based practice -- A basic understanding of research -- Quantitative research -- Qualitative research -- Finding the evidence -- Evaluating the evidence -- Barriers to disseminating the evidence -- Evidence-based practice in the nurse residency program -- Examples of a PICOT process.
Brown's Evidence-Based Nursing: the Research-Practice Connection
"Brown's Evidence-Based Nursing: The Research-Practice Connection, Fifth Edition introduces students to research methods and evidence-based practice. Evidence-based practice is a multi-step approach to healthcare delivery. It requires the ability to assess, interpret, and integrate current research to apply to day-to-day clinical problems"-- Provided by publisher.
Clinical Skills : An Introduction for Nursing and Healthcare
Using a scenario-based approach, this book relates the essential clinical skills student nurses need to know to 'real' people and situations. The book is a friendly, interactive and visual approach to skills acquisition.
Nursing Skills in Supporting Mobility
The ability to move easily and purposively contributes enormously to a sense of health and wellbeing, enabling increased independence and selfprotection. However, many of the patients you encounter will have some degree of immobility whether it is temporary (for instance, due to local anaesthesia), permanent (for instance, due to amputation or stroke) or variable (for instance, due to arthritis or morbid obesity). This practical pocket guide covers: * the anatomy and physiology of the musculoskeletal system * the principles of ergonomics * safe moving and handling practices * positioning the patient * performing a range of movement exercises * legal aspects of moving and handling * the promotion of sleep. This competency-based text covers relevant key concepts, anatomy and physiology, lifespan matters, assessment and nursing skills. To support your learning, it also includes learning outcomes, concept map summaries, activities, questions and scenarios with sample answers and critical reflection thinking points. Quick and easy to reference, this short, clinically-focused guide is ideal for use on placements or for revision. It is suitable for pre-registration nurses, students on the nursing associate programme and newly qualified nurses.
Nursing Skills in Control and Coordination
Looking at how a variety of biological systems control and coordinate all physical actions, this quick reference book covers the nervous system and neurological assessment, caring for the unconscious patient and dealing with pain. Suitable for student nurses and nursing associates, it is ideal for use in practice. This practical pocket guide covers: * the anatomy and physiology of the nervous system * neurological assessment * caring for the unconscious patient * pain assessment and management * sleep. This competency-based text covers relevant key concepts, anatomy and physiology, lifespan matters, assessment and nursing skills. To support your learning, it also includes learning outcomes, concept map summaries, activities, questions and scenarios with sample answers and critical reflection thinking points. Quick and easy to reference, this short, clinically-focused guide is ideal for use on placements or for revision. It is suitable for pre-registration nurses, students on the nursing associate programme and newly qualified nurses.
Changing How We Think about Difficult Patients : A Guide for Physicians and Healthcare Professionals
Physicians enter their professions with the highest of hopes and ideals for compassionate and efficient patient care. Along the way, however, recurring problems arise in their interactions with some patients that lead physicians to label them as "difficult." Some studies indicate that physicians identify 15% or more of their patients as "difficult." The negative feelings that physicians have toward these patients may lead to frustration, cynicism, and burnout. Changing How We Think about Difficult Patients uses a multi-tiered approach to bring awareness to the difficult patient conundrum, then introduces simple, actionable tools that every physician, nurse, and caregiver can use to change their mindset about the patients who challenge them. Positive thoughts lead to more positive feelings and more effective treatments and results for patients. They also lead to more satisfaction and decreased feelings of burnout in healthcare professionals. How does this book give you an advantage? Caring for difficult patients poses a tremendous challenge for physicians, nurses, and clinical practitioners. It may contribute significantly to feelings of burnout, including feelings of exhaustion, cynicism, and lost sense of purpose. In response, Dr. Naidorf offers a pragmatic approach to accepting patients the way they are, then provides strategies for providers to find more happiness and satisfaction in their interactions with even the most challenging patients and families.
Nursing Ethics: Across the Curriculum and into Practice
"Nursing Ethics is a comprehensive, well-written text that provides pre-licensure nursing students with an understanding of ethical issues in the current healthcare climate and underscores the many ways in which ethics affects all levels of nursing care. Divided into three sections - Foundational Theories, Concepts and Professional Issues; Moving into Ethics Across the Lifespan; and Ethics Related to Special Issues - the current edition seamlessly aligns with the cornerstones of the nursing curriculum, providing a solid ethical foundation for pre-licensure nursing students and making it a perfect fit for almost any course" -- Provided by publisher.
Self-Care for New and Student Nurses
Self-Care for New and Student Nurses presents techniques to prepare you for stressors present now and those to come. No matter where you are in your nursing career, this book offers you multiple ways to prioritize your own mental, physical, and emotional health.
Successful Transition to Practice: a Guide for the New Nurse Practitioner
An expert guide designed to assist Nurse Practitioner students and faculty in the complex, yet vital transition from student NP to employed NP.
Nursing Professionals: A Practical Career Guide
"Nursing Professionals, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers the following areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. RNs, LPNs, Nurse Practitioners, Nursing Assistants, Orderlies"-- Provided by publisher.
Nursing now : today's issues, tomorrow's trends by
"Be prepared for the rapidly changing world of nursing. The rapid transformations in health care and the impact of the pandemic have created new challenges and new opportunities for nursing and nurses. Explore the evolution and history of nursing and the important issues and trends shaping the nursing profession today. From assuring the delivery of high-quality health care to management methods and techniques through preparing for the Next Generation NCLEX®, you'll be better prepared for the transition to professional practice and equipped with the skills to succeed and thrive." -- |c Provided by publisher.
 ©2018, Institute of Technical Education |
Privacy | Terms of Use | Best viewed at 1280 x 720 resolution |
