Databases: Home

LinkedIn Learning (Video Resources) is a learning platform offering video courses taught by industry experts in software, creative, and business skills. It currently offers more than 23,000 courses in many subject areas such as Leadership and Management, Business Tools, Technology, Design and Web. 

Newslink service of the SPH Media allows authorised users to search articles from SPH's newspaper archives. 

Publications include:

• The Straits Times*
• Business Times
• Berita Harian
• Lianhe Zaobao
• Lianhe Wanbao
• Shin Min Daily News
• The New Paper
• My Paper
• Friday Weekly

*including Sunday Times, Digital Life, Mind Your Body, Urban, Little Red Dot and IN
Note: Please use Chrome or Edge

O'Reilly for Higher Education is predominantly a database comprising technology and business titles, featuring contents in a variety of formats:

• Books, videos, and audiobooks: More than 48,200+ ebooks, 30,000+ hours of video, and over 2,300 audiobooks from O’Reilly and nearly 200 publishing partners. 
• On demand courses: Curated, self-paced learning for in-demand roles and topics in business and tech.
• Instant Answers: 'Ask O’Reilly Answers', which uses Natural Language Processing engine, can field tech questions from users so that they get instant answers from books and videos.

SafetyHub is a  cross-platform  cloud-based  Safety  Training  Video  Streaming platform which covers 16 categories of safety topics with 130 titles/videos. Safety training video content includes: workplace safety, health  hazard,  cardiopulmonary  resuscitation  (CPR), COVID-19 management, climate change and more.

ScienceDirect is a database of peer-reviewed full-text journal articles and book chapters from over 3,800 journals and more than 35,000 book titles. ScienceDirect covers subjects in physical sciences & engineering, life sciences, health sciences, social sciences and humanities.

Currently, about 250,000 articles are open access, and these can be accessed free of charge. These articles are indicated with “Open Access” icons.

The remaining articles are available on a pay-per-download basis. As a value-added service, Library has subscribed to a fixed number of such articles for users to download. Please contact Library staff, Siti Fauziah Sani or Loh Hui Hong, for further details on account creation.

This service is currently open to ITE staff only.

Singapore Standards Online offers the full set of more than 900 titles of current and past issues of Singapore Standards, Technical References and Codes of Practice issued by Enterprise Singapore. Only available for viewing. Downloading or printing is not available.

Statista is a global business data platform of a multi-disciplinary that provides industry and business data across 600 industries which would be helpful for the various ITE courses such as hospitality, engineering, business, IT and health sciences. Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources (including both national and international data) and provides over 1 million statistics and facts. The statistics database is well-known and acknowledged throughout the world as basis for fast and comprehensive research for numbers, data, and facts.

Statista can provide information on:

• Market segment identification (target audience)
• Market trends
• Brand sales, including competitor brands
• Popularity of a product
• Niche markets
• Rankings by product category, country

Tools such as customised analysis with data modelling and infographics are also available.